Leadville

29 Aug

“Man imposes his own limitations, don’t set any”

-Anthony Bailey

“Human beings are made up of flesh and blood, and a miracle fiber called courage”

-George Patton

“A lot of people run a race to see who is fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more. Nobody is going to win a 5,000 meter race after running an easy 2 miles. Not with me. If I loose forcing the pace all the way, well, at least I can live with myself.”

Pre

…. So the Town Lake 52miler.  Not one of my brighter ideas to say the least.  The idea was actually run the Cactus 50 miler on my birthday (November 1st). But after thinking about the drive home afterwards I chose to bail on it, and instead run my own Ultra at home… by myself, in the dark, good idea right?! ridiculous idea!  Training for this run started about August.  I stopped crossfitting and just ran 4 days a week at 4-7 mile clips, wearing a 20# and sometimes 40# vest (at all times).  that was it.  I never totaled more then 30miles for the week.  My thought process was that if I could run the 7mile loop at town lake with a 40# vest I can run 50 miles w/out a vest.   Fast forward to the night of the run…  The idea was to start at 5am on Saturday, which was the start time of the Cactus 50 miler…. that quickly changed.  After packing all the food I would need, I started getting antsy!  So I moved the start time from 5, to 3am….  after lying on the couch twiddling my thumbs, I moved the start time again, 2am start time, no… how about midnight.   Screw it lets just go now!  That was at 9:30pm… I walked in to the bedroom kissed CK good bye and said I was leaving to do the run, she just laughed at me, gave me  a kiss and said “OK”…. and like that I was off.  Took me 15 minutes to get to town lake, and by 10pm I was off on the run.   9 hrs 45minutes later I was done!  Special thanks to Aaron Arehart,  Lance Cantu, and Mr. Tom Green for knocking some of mileage off with me!  So just like that I had completed my first ultra… Time to start thinking about doing a 100miler now! (If you want to read about the actual details of the Town Lake 52Miler check the archives for last November)

Leave a Reply

