Leadville

25 Aug

-Pre 

“To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.”

So, it’ been a few days since I completed the LT100 and to be honest with you I’m not exactly sure where I should start so bare with me…..  The idea to run Leadville actually was birthed a few years ago.  My buddy Don Ward basically threw it out one day when he heard I wanted to do an ultra.  And being the crazy guy that I am, i said hellsyeah let’s do it!  Well that turned out to be all talk… nothing happened that year, until I came across the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall (Crossfit Central had a book signing for him).  And in that book they talk about the Leadville run and how unbelievably hard it is… well crazy Kris was like, damn I have to do it now!  At the time I was reading Born to Run, I wasn’t running at all, other then what was in the workouts we were doing… but nothing extra.  Before I started doing crossfit, I use to run 15-20miles a week, but my knees and hips would start hurting and I would take a few weeks off, let them heal, and then go right back to running!  Quite the vicious cycle I was putting myself through.  But then I started crossfitting and stopped all the running at town lake I was doing…. my knees never felt better, my hips felt great… then I read BTR, and I was like you know what I love to run, lets see if I can do this ultra…   So last year I decided to do a 50 miler first, in prep for LT100, in what I called the The Town Lake 52miler….       

to be continued

love this dudes style…

One Response to “Leadville”

  1. http://www.girlwalksintoabarbell.com August 25, 2011 at 8:31pm08 #

    Ahhh, a cliff hanger. Can’t wait to read the rest of your recap. I’m sure it was an unbelievable experience. Crazy to think you went from “stopping all the running” to a 50-miler to LEADVILLE 100.

Leave a Reply

