My Crossfit 2011 Season is OVER

23 Jun

and  just like that it’s over…  A quick recap of the season goes like this, I started the Open in poor “crossfit” condition.  I had done my first Ultra, my 2nd marathon, but little crossfit training.  And it showed!  My Open placement of 101 or 102, can’t remember, is not very indicative of the athlete I am right now.  I kept telling myself, just make it in the top 60 (for ego reasons more then anything) and then step it up for the Regional with my RedBlack mates.  Well, that didn’t quite workout.. my fist wod put me in 250+ spot of the bat and it was an up hill battle the next 6 weeks.  Which now that I think about it, it looks an awful lot like our Regional!  We started off 21 after the first workout (3rd-21st place was a difference of less then 50 seconds).  Then our 2nd wod dropped us even father back (26th).  Saturday, was a different story… 2 top 4 finishes jumped us up 14 spots, but it just wasn’t enough to get in the top 10 for Sunday… which if we would have made it in, we would have been one of the few teams to finish the Amanda wod, and our chipper wod is solid (practice run a few weeks back 16min flat..smoke)  but that is neither here nor there…. bitter sweet.  But as a veteran in the crossfit game I don’t get devastated in defeat, I get fired up!  I feed off failure, because I have the mindset of “I’ll show you what I am made of!”  and my mates albeit younger then I by just a few years ; ) have that attitude as well…  Perfect example, Saturday morning instead of checking the board for our heats I just assumed we were still in the 3rd heat WRONG!  we had been moved to the 1st heat because of our poor performance on Friday.  So now we are looking at having to go and do a wod in 10 minutes instead of the allotted 60minutes I assumed we had to warm up.  Now here comes the #WINNING part, no warmup, only time to find our judge, get our numbers marked on us, (I did have my name announced over the PA to make it the judges table which shows you how close we were cutting it) to walking out to the court to do our word:  9:28 seconds later we are done, 4th fastest time of the day, now that my friend is winning!  That set the table for wod2, which we had the 4th fastest time of the day as well…  So the waiting game to see if we did enough to squeeze into the final day was short thank god, and as you know, it just wasn’t meant to be… our hole was too deep to climb out  TO cut this short, I just wanted add one more time how proud I am of my mates, and I look forward to future competitions with them, we will be a force to be reckoned with, I PROMISE!

What are your thoughts on this video, to me it’s a reminder of how valuable every moment of life is…..

<object width=”560″ height=”349″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/2omb_4O5DkQ?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0″></param><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”></param><param name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always”></param></object>

Leave a Reply

