Town Lake 52ish

19 Oct

October 30th 2010 Town Lake 52ish will go down.  The Cactus 50 will have to wait.  The wife and I started a budget (Miracle Budget by Dave King) a few weeks back, and in doing so it turns out that it was going to  cost me roughly $250+ to run the Cactus 50 (gas, lodging, food, race entry fee).  So I decided that wasn’t a wise thing to spend $250 on…  but I have been training my ass off for this, doing more running in the last 2 months then the previous 7years combined, that I was going to run 50+ miles some way some how…  just not on pavement.  It dawned on me the other day on a run on just how I could accomplish this, run the town lake 7mile loop 7 times, and then the 3mile loop once, roughly 52ish miles.  After talking to my boy Elliot today, he suggested I run all the loops x amount of times that way I change up the scenery every so slightly, excellent idea!  So, at 5am on Saturday the 30th I will run the first ever Town Lake 52ish.  I will run the 7mile loop 3x, the 5 mile loop 4x, and the 3mile loop 4x… 52ish miles!  The distances aren’t exact, but I’m cool with calling it 52ish even if it is less then that, or I like to think that it is more then 52miles.  So this is where you come in to play, anyone in the Austin area who would like to join in on the run with me is more then welcome.  Come run a lap or 2…  Like I said I am starting at 5am…  I’m projecting that I finish with the 3- 7mile loops by 9am if not sooner.  One of the main reasons I chose the Cactus 50 is that my 33 birthday is on the 1st of November, I plan on donating money to Charity Water…  if you feel so inclined to give me a birthday present please think about donating the money to this great cause!  Their will be no birthday party/ dinner/ … Charity Water is a cause I strongly believe in, and I am sorry that I don’t discuss it more.  I plan on having a sign on my truck, parked by the trail underneath the Mopac bridge, to bring awareness to this great cause.  Who knows, this might turn into a yearly thing…  I can’t think of a better way to celebrate another year of being a live and well!

 

11 Responses to “Town Lake 52ish”

  1. E October 21, 2010 at 8:31pm10 #

    Rock On Brother!!
    I’ll be there to rock a 7 loop or two with you.

    Underground Shack

  2. Carl Edwards October 21, 2010 at 8:31pm10 #

    Man If I were out that way, I would probably be down for like 400m-1.5mile with ya..LOL! You know how I do it!!

    • E October 21, 2010 at 8:31pm10 #

      hahahaha Carl you don’t run anymore?!?! haha 😉

    • undergroundshack October 22, 2010 at 8:31am10 #

      i know this maaaaaaaaan! i wouldn’t expect anything less…. if i could front squat 350#’S I would say piss off too!!! much love bro!

  3. Carl Edwards October 22, 2010 at 8:31am10 #

    Hey E..not as much as you guys made me run..Pshhhh..LOL!

  4. Carl Edwards October 22, 2010 at 8:31am10 #

    Hey boys…taking on “King Kong” tomorrow..I’ll let you guys know how it turns out!

  5. Carl Edwards October 22, 2010 at 8:31pm10 #

    “King Kong” 5:41..used 255lb on squat cleans instead of 250lb..shit got heavy really quick!

    • undergroundshack October 22, 2010 at 8:31pm10 #

      big time! congrats, that is a solid time bro!

    • E October 27, 2010 at 8:31am10 #

      Daaang! Nicely done broskie!
      I’d still be trying to get through that 😉

  6. Canon Camera Bag January 25, 2011 at 8:31pm01 #

    `,* I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives great information `,;

Leave a Reply

