The Book of Eli & The Road

27 Aug

Dear Lord, thank you for giving me the strength and the conviction to complete the task you entrusted to me. Thank you for guiding me straight and true through the many obstacles in my path. And for keeping me resolute when all around seemed lost. Thank you for your protection and your many signs along the way. Thank you for any good that I may have done, I’m so sorry about the bad. Thank you for the friend I made. Please watch over her as you watched over me. Thank you for finally allowing me to rest. I’m so very tired, but I go now to my rest at peace. Knowing that I have done right with my time on this earth. I fought the good fight, I finished the race, I kept the faith.

Eli

“Just remember that the things you put into your head are there forever, he said. You might want to think about that.
You forget some things, dont you?   Yes. You forget what you want to remember and you remember what you want to forget.”

Man

Every time the  wife goes out of town I catch up on all the movies I want to watch…. I’m usually in bed by 9 (when the wife goes to bed) but when ever she is out of town I usually stay up until 12-1am.  Anyhow, the last 2 nights I have watched The Book of Eli, and The Road.  Both Post Apocalypse style movies that made me quite emotional.  I watched The Road on Wednesday night, and to see what Viggo Mortensen did to ensure the well being of his son made me feel like a piss-ant!  I won’t go into details of the movie because I think everyone should watch it once, and I mean one time only!  It is an extremely gut wrenching movie that I won’t have to watch it again, it’s embedded in my brain forever now….(just like the above mentioned quote states).

Then Last night I watched The Book of Eli.  Another Post-Apocalyptic movie that wasn’t quite as gut wrenching, actually not even close, but a message just as strong.  My faith has always been a roller coaster ride…  many highs, with just as many lows.  Currently it’s hurting right now… I’m always battling my mind.   Then I watch The Book of Eli, and again Denzel’s character Eli, makes me feel like a piss-ant.  And I use the word “make” loosely, no one can make you feel or do anything…  I use it more as a reflective term of my state of mind.   The journey of Eli to fulfill his Personal Legend will make anyone look at themselves and say  “Am I doing my best for the good of humanity?”, “Am I doing more for others then I am for myself?”  I highly recommend watching The Book of Eli, you might have some questions to answer as well.

If their has been any good movies you have seen lately please drop them in the comment section..  I’m always down for a good flick!  Peace and love until Monday!

5 Responses to “The Book of Eli & The Road”

  1. Katherine August 27, 2010 at 8:31pm08 #

    The Road is one of Tommy’s all time favorite books. He loved the movie as well and said the same thing as you. He said he shed quite a few tears watching it as it brought up so much emotion around his relationship not onlly with Arlo but with his own father. Do you like Cormac McCarthy? If so, we have some books around you can borrow 🙂 Have a good weekend!

  2. LanceC August 27, 2010 at 8:31pm08 #

    Great post Kris!

  3. Walt August 27, 2010 at 8:31pm08 #

    Children of Men is a great post-apocalyptic movie. Brazil is great, too, but it’s a downer. I like Children of Men best – hope in the midst of suffering – hope against hope.

  4. Antonioa August 28, 2010 at 8:31am08 #

    Tears of the Sun…shows the plight of the genocide in Africa..

  5. john August 28, 2010 at 8:31pm08 #

    Thanks for sharing. I will bookmark your website.

Leave a Reply

