What’s Beef

23 Jul

One reason so few of us achieve what we truly want is that we never direct our focus; we never concentrate our power. Most people dabble their way through life, never deciding to master anything in particular.
Tony Robbins

My thoughts on the games…..  My Grade for the The Crossfit Games 2010= B-  Most of the events looked thought out and well planned.  A few of them did not.  First and foremost, the athletes safety should always be taken into consideration.  In any other “Sport” athletes are protected either through the gear they are required to wear or the precautions the sport takes for the athlete.  I won’t get in specifics on this other then that doing push ups on a surface that was probably 150 degrees or hotter, then doing rope climbs at the end of a grueling weekend, I have one word for you= Silly.   And all this BS I’m reading about Crossfit being compared to the X games, give me an f’ng break!  those cats wear helmets, pads, and the course itself is protected.  The Games could have scored an A if the judging was balanced across the board… this portion of the games scored an F in my opinion.  Too many times did I see judges giving credit to reps that weren’t even close to being proper, while other athletes were getting reps taken from them that were legit.  Placement of athletes goes a long way in this, it has to be better!  I don’t have an answer to how this can be rectified but until it does this “Sport” can not and will not be taken seriously, at least in my eyes.

Now lets talk about the venue itself, Top Notch!  The feel of the games is not the same as being out at the Ranch, but for this “Sport” to grow this has to be at this venue or something similar to it for attendance purposes only though.  I still would take the Ranch over it any day, limit the athletes who can compete like they are doing as well as the spectators and get the games on T.V., and you make all the parties happy.  HQ makes the money they are trying to make, and we get the games back at the Ranch.  Is this a feasible option, I don’t know but I like to think it is!  Because I sure in the hell don’t want to have to buy $8-13 beers, or $10 chicken ‘brest’ sandwiches anymore, or the $15 a day parking.  Not that anyone was twisting my arm to do so,  I just think that after all the money it cost to get to the games have a little consideration for the spectators.

Now I want to end with how proud I am of my wife!  A lot of up’s and down’s for her during the games, but all in all she persevered and made it through to the final day and making all the cuts and got to compete in every workout!   Stay tuned for her insights on her blog, she will be posting a 3 part series, and I will post them as she post them.

OPERA

Following workout was from the Crossfit Games 2010

For time:
Run 1200 meters
63 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood
36 Pull-ups
Run 800 meters
42 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood
24 Pull-ups
Run 400 meters
21 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood
12 Pull-ups

9 Responses to “What’s Beef”

  1. Jen Kaufman July 23, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

    Carey was inspiring to watch. period. I love the insight from your eyes on the venue, judging etc. Judging consistency seems to always be an issue at CF competitions, and, like you, I am not sure of the ‘fix’ for that. You cannot help but get frustrated when reps not counted for one is counted for the person next to them. How does that play out in the big picture? How many people would have been higher in the standings if the extra few seconds for that missed rep counted? Who knows. You could say it does not really matter because it is all for fun. Most of us are ex-athletes who thought our competition days were long gone anyway…HOWEVER, when 25,000 is on the line, it changes things and you cannot help but help to wonder how we will standardize fairness when FAT cash is up for grabs…I am rambling, will stop now…we love your posts!

    • undergroundshack July 23, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

      Jen,
      You are absolutely right… now that money is involved judging has to be top notch and it was far from it. They have a year to get it better which I hope they do.. I love the idea of crossfit being a ‘pro sport’ so I pray that they get all the kinks worked out the best they can.

  2. Pili July 23, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

    I wondered what the venue was like.

    Carey was amazing!

    I am in the process of watching it all over again.
    I agree that the final event looked gratuitously cruel in the whole “be ready for anything” category.

    There has to be a better solution to the consistency. Unfortunately, we’re not the only sport suffering from this.

    When I first heard that they couldn’t get the permits for HQ to use the Ranch, I felt that CF was being launched into the “lime light” a bit early. But we are here and have to make of it what we will. Thanks for posting this, Kris.

    • undergroundshack July 23, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

      Anytime! How’s the gym coming along?!

      • Pili July 23, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

        Things are going great! I just sent Carey an e-mail about it. Grand opening is August 7th.

  3. undergroundshack July 23, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

    32:31
    not bad but not great….my first workout in 7 days so I will take it!

  4. Diego July 23, 2010 at 8:31pm07 #

    Professor you are generous with your grades. In my opinion I hope HQ understands the importance of getting the right people involved in the development of the next games, specially finding a way to include athletes such as Carey, not only in competition but in the planning and future growth of the sport.

    • undergroundshack July 23, 2010 at 8:31pm07 #

      i was being generous… the potential for the Games is exponential, but like you said they need to get the right people involved. right now it seems that their might be 2-3 people who are making all the decisions and it shows. this is not about HQ, it’s about the athletes such as Carey or OPT for example. I have a feeling that HQ has realized this and will start to reach out to the community for help, if not easy come easy go.

  5. undergroundshack July 24, 2010 at 8:31am07 #

    21min… very tough workout, I love it! JT sub 19, ZH sub 20..studs!

Leave a Reply

