Authentic…

14 Jun


Every evening I turn my worries over to God.  He’s going to be up all night anyway.  ~Mary C. Crowley

Elliot Schrock and Cameron Lyons

If you are familiar with the Crossfit Central motivational videos then you will know whom the next person I’m about to talk about……  Elliot Schrock.  I remember the first time I met Elliot in the Austin Bergstrom Airport about to board the plane to Cali for the games last year.  Elliot was introduced to me as the camera guy, but my first impression was  “he looks like an athlete…why, doesn’t he do crossfit?  and how good of a camera guy could he be, that Jeremy was willing to bring him to the Games…”  Little did I know the gift that Elliot has with a camera and his ability to make inspiring and motivational videos.  While at the Games I got a chance to get to know Elliot a little and what I learned was that this guy had a lot more to offer then just his camera skills…  there was something about him but I just wasn’t sure what it was.  After returning from the Games, Elliot and I would shoot each other emails and texts, checking up on each other…. the whole time I was giving him a hard time about “why don’t you just move to Austin?”…  “Plenty of work here for you”, plus we talked about training together…….7+ months later it finally all came to a fruition this past January.  Having Elliot in Austin has been a blessing for the simple fact is he a good soul.. 99% of the time he has a smile on his face, almost always level headed, plus he is one heck of a training partner.  My desire to be better as an athlete is largely due to Elliot’s desire to improve as well.  In the quest to improve physically, Elliot has helped me improve mentally as well with daily emails from Max Lucado, recommending books I should read, I could go on.   Having Elliot around more, I finally figured out what it was that intrigued me when we first met…  he’s authentic, what you see is what you get.  I guess it’s not too often you come across people like that, but if you do make sure you keep them around because it will make you a better person for it.

Elliot Schrock= A Good Soul

OPERA

Mid-Hang Snatch Pull 5 x 3

Snatch Balance 5 x 3

Front Squat 3 x 5


3 Sets of 20 Ring Dips (use a slight tap of the foot to elevate off the ground if  you  need to)

3 Sets of max reps HSPU (unassisted)

Alternate between Ring Dips and HSPU

Metcon:

Row 500m

100 double unders

Row 500m

100 double unders


3 Responses to “Authentic…”

  1. Carl June 14, 2010 at 8:31pm06 #

    Man all i can say is I LOVE YOU GUYS MAN!!!! It’s an honor to train with lions!!!

  2. E June 15, 2010 at 8:31am06 #

    Kris all I can say is thank you!
    You know I look up to you like a brother.
    It’s a pretty cool thing, that while going through a tough training day, right in the middle of the workout when everything hurts and sweat is stinging my eyes. I can look over at you guys and we all crack a smile and start laughing.

    You’ve motivated me more than you know my friend, inside and out of the gym. Underground Shack, where we not only train physically but mentally and spiritually as well.

    As wise man once told me, “If you can’t smile while doing it then what’s the point.”

    I truly appreciate the words and I know that this is only the beginning broham!

  3. undergroundshack June 16, 2010 at 8:31am06 #

    Much Love to you Big C!

    Kept the workload light today
    Snatch Pull stayed @135#
    Snatch Balance @ 135#
    Front SQuat @ 205#

    Ring dips..made it to 14 strict before I had to put my foot down on the first set, 10 , 10 on set 2 and 3
    HSPU were weak considering i was going straight from Ring dips 4,3,3
    Metcon: 6:58

Leave a Reply

