Now What…..

1 Jun

Stay committed to your decisions, but stay flexible in your approach.Tom Robbins

Another Qualifier has come and gone… did I qualify? No.  did i improve from last year? skill wise? Yes.  placement? No.  What does that mean to me?  I will tell you what it mean.  As long as I continue to have the desire to get better as an athlete I will continue to compete in Crossfit Competitions.  I have made huge strides in the last 7 months at about a 70% commitment level.  Which in the last 5 yrs is about a 100% increase… does that make sense?!  First and foremost, I am a husband and a father.  My main purpose in life right now is to raise my 2 little kids to be the best they can be.  My 2nd responsibility is to be the best husband I can be (these 2 are really the same commitment).  After that,  it is to be the best athlete I can be…..  For the 2nd time in the last 2 months it was brought my attention that I have the perfect life of a professional athlete.  No one is saying that I am a professional athlete, but if I wanted to train like one, I could.  Well, I don’t…..and why the hell not?  So as of today, I have a new commitment to my family and myself… My commitment to my family is for eternity:  I WILL BE THE BEST HUSBAND AND FATHER ANY FAMILY COULD ASK FOR  my commitment as an athlete is for the next 12 months:   I WILL BE THE BEST ATHLETE I CAN HUMANLY BE, AND I WILL DO WHATEVER IT TAKES TO MAKE MYSELF AS COMPLETE AN ATHLETE AS I CAN BE.

Desire is the key to motivation, but it’s determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of your goal – a commitment to excellence – that will enable you to attain the success you seek.Mario Andretti


Tomorrow’s Workout:   work on any 2 weaknesses that you have for 30 minutes.  mine will be HSPU, Snatch

3 Responses to “Now What…..”

  1. Ryan June 1, 2010 at 8:31pm06 #

    Good post. I feel inspired by your last line. I think that’s a good commitment that we all could and should commit to. I know I’ve already committed to losing 100lbs by May 1st of next year, but even though I’ve already seen great results these last 6 weeks I can’t forget I’m a long way from where I want to be. To refocus and recommit is never a bad idea.

  2. Pili June 2, 2010 at 8:31am06 #

    WOW, Ryan amazing goal! Good luck to you and congratulations on taking control of your life.

    Kris, I love this post. It was awesome to meet you and your beautiful family. I too am committed to compete this coming year. You and Carey inspire me to no end, both professionally and personally. Congrats on this new endeavor and the best of luck.

    • undergroundshack June 2, 2010 at 8:31pm06 #

      Pili,
      it was a pleasure to meet you as well. If their is anything that I have learned in life is that life itself seems to fly by..if you are not setting goals and reevaluating them constantly, you can miss valuable lessons. this past weekend for example, I can say to myself ” not a bad showing…. I just need to train harder”, or really dissect it and see what part of the competition exposed my weaknesses and attack them as hard as I can…. because next year’s Sectional will be here before you know it! Goal setting is something i have never been real consistent with but it amazing the success I have when I do set goals in all areas of my life, not just in Crossfit.

Leave a Reply

